272 St.George Street
Queen Anne Victorian | Authentically Restored | Modern Functionality | Impeccably Maintained
A rare opportunity to own one of the most architecturally unique historical homes in St. John’s County. Located in a highly desirable historic preservation district in St. Augustine, Florida, also known as the “Nation’s Oldest City”. This estate property has been authentically restored to the highest standards. The incredible details of this Queen Anne Victorian reflect a time period of old-world craftsmanship with a design aesthetic that is both functional and beautiful.
Experience the ultimate coastal lifestyle from this private residence. The neighborhood setting for this home is an area south of the Plaza de la Constitucion where you will find a peaceful enclave of unique historical homes situated between the Matanzas River and Lake Maria Sanchez. All the while being in close proximity to the restaurants, shops and social activities of charming historic downtown St. Augustine.
Boaters may keep their marine vessel at the City Marina on the intra-coastal waterway which is just a few short blocks to the east. The beautiful white, sandy beaches of Anastasia State Park are just 2.5 miles from this home. Enjoy the very best of St. Augustine while living in the grandeur of this elegant home.
This property is a real treasure for those who appreciate the construction standards and attention to detail of a bygone era, yet seek a home with functionality that is compatible with a modern lifestyle.
- Zoned Historic Preservation District One (HP-1).
- Unusually large parcel of land for a downtown residence. Approximately .386 acres (110’x154’).
- There is an existing survey available for review.
- 4,342 square foot under roof: 3,606 sq. ft. of interior living space + 736 sq. ft. of wrap-around porches.
- 4 bedrooms + tower room on 3rd floor allows for flexible use as 5th bedroom, studio, office, music room, etc.
- 4 bathrooms. Master bedroom and guest room both have en-suite bathrooms.
- Center-hall floor plan with a spectacular stairwell that is a unique architectural feature of the home.
- There are hand-carved wood panels and newel posts. The stair section to the 3rd floor appears suspended
without a visual means of support underneath.
- Exterior and interior have been freshly painted within the past few years.
- Refinished heart pine flooring. Some rooms have a decorative border pattern.
- Incredible mill-work throughout as evidenced around windows, door frames and stair-well.
- Original interior doors with mortise and tenon joint construction and authentic vintage door knobs and door hinges.
- Restored double-hung windows operate easily with the weight & pulley balance system with sash cords. Unlike
many other historical homes, the windows in this house are not painted shut. Only a few windows do not open.
- The 3 fireplaces were intended as coal-burning units. Currently, they cannot be used as a heat source.
- Restoration work to the vintage tile work, brick fire-boxes, metal surrounds and wood mantels is underway by local restoration experts Elaine & Duke Darnold . Gas lines can be run should the future owner decide to install vent-less gas coal kits.
- Six (6) reproduction light fixtures appropriate to the period of the home are present in the entry hallway, living room and dining room.
- Reproduction “push-button” light switch panels are found in various areas throughout the house to provide for an authentic, period-appropriate aesthetic. Wiring has been updated throughout.
- A skim coat of plaster over the newer sheetrock walls was used to provide a more authentic aesthetic. Most of the plaster walls were removed during renovation to facilitate installation of updated wiring and plumbing. Some of the original plaster walls had hand-painted decorative artwork. There are remnants of these original plaster sections on two of the dining room walls and on display in the living room. Careful attention has been given to preserve these.
- Window treatments vary to include: Custom, stained plantation shutters in 6 rooms , bamboo shades in 3 rooms and Belgian-linen panels in the living room.
- 2 Rheem brand systems with 5 separate zones for maximum efficiency and comfort.
- Each room in this home is unique with its own interesting arrangement of windows and millwork.
- This home is perfectly fabulous in its architectural design features, authentic restoration elements, quality finishes, highly desirable location and remarkably large parcel of land.
ENTRY & PORCH AREAS
- Front lawn professionally designed landscaping with copper accent lighting and fountain.
- The oversized Sago Palms found in the front yard are rarely seen of this size.
- Wrap-around front porch with tongue and groove wood flooring. The decorative wood columns were custom-milled to match the one remaining original, hand-carved column. This porch also has a metal roof which provides visual interest.
- Original double-entry doors with beveled glass panels and vintage hardware.
KITCHEN, DINING & BACK PORCH
- Custom kitchen & bathrooms are designed to compliment the time-period of this home and yet be completely
functional for a modern lifestyle.
- Kitchen has a vintage built-in dish hutch, teak counter tops, Shaw-brand apron-front farmhouse sink, vintage
light fixtures and the ceilings are finished with painted wood panels.
- Professional-grade appliances: Sub-zero refrigerator, Garland gas range, Bosch dishwasher.
- Butler’s pantry has built-in cabinetry, stainless steel bar sink, teak counter tops and U-line brand mini-refrigerator.
- Adjacent to the kitchen is the sun-filled breakfast room for casual dining. It has 8 sets of windows, a vaulted wood ceiling, beautiful French chandelier and painted bead-board wainscoting. This room is an addition and carefully designed to appear as if were an original element.
- The wrap-around porch is also an addition. It was designed to mirror the original front porch. Both the breakfast
room and back porch were designed by the talented local architect, Martin Gould.
- Windows in kitchen and breakfast room are not original to the home. They are quality wood windows and are of
double-hung construction. This means they can be raised from the bottom or lowered from the top. They are operable as are most windows throughout the home.
LIVING ROOM & DINING ROOM
- The living room & dining rooms (double parlor) to the right of the foyer have a set of pocket doors which can be used for privacy between the two rooms. They are an original feature of the home, are operable and have vintage hardware.
- The living room has floor-to-ceiling windows which provide for a light-filled room. This is the only room in the house with this feature.
- The adjoining dining room has rectangular-shaped bay window arrangement which brings light from 3 sides throughout the day (east, north and west).
- The rooms to the left of foyer also have unique window arrangements to allow for maximum light throughout the day.
- All 4 bedrooms are located on the 2nd level and are of a generous size. The room on the 3rd level can be used as a 5th bedroom, studio, office, music room, etc.
- The guest room at the top of the stairs has its own ensuite bathroom with a shower. It has windows on two sides
of the room and offers privacy from the other bedrooms. It also has it’s own HVAC zone for maximum comfort and efficiency.
- Bedrooms 2 and 3 both have a unique window arrangement which allows for maximum light. They also have large closet space which is a benefit not commonly found in homes of this time period. These rooms share the hall bathroom.
- The owner’s suite is an extraordinary arrangement of 3 spaces. The focal point of the main room is the incredible, large curved window with hand-carved sections. This is the only room where this special window is present.
- There is a central dressing room or lounge space with a walk-in closet. The 9’ Carrara marble vanity is the featured element of this area with two sinks, generous counter space and plenty of storage. The rectangular-shaped bay window arrangement provides for maximum light throughout the day and can accommodate various furniture arrangements.
- Plantation shutters can be adjusted for privacy as needed.
- There are attractive chandeliers in both the main room and the dressing room.
- The water closet and shower room are also of a generous size and there is an attached cabinet for additional storage.
- The shower area provides for multiple water sources: rain shower head mounted on ceiling, shower head on wall and lower faucet for use as a foot bath.
- The owner’s suite is on its own HVAC zone for maximum comfort and efficiency.
- The beautiful wood stair case continues all the way to the top level of this home. This section is suspended without any visible means of support from underneath.
- This additional living space is climate controlled with its own HVAC zone for maximum comfort.
- The ceilings and walls are covered in bead-board panels that are finished with shellac. Again, this room is completely unique from any other room in this home and it has its own presence.
- The tower room is an 8’x8’ space that has an unusual arrangement of charming original windows. There is ceiling
hatch that leads to the outdoor tower. This hatch has not been used by the current owner and it may or may not be functional.
- An unfinished attic is present on either side. This provides for easy access to storage areas, duct-work and plumbing.
- The storage area is quite large and can accommodate many items. On one wall you can still see some of the original lath and plaster sections of a wall.
Records from the St. Augustine Historical Research Library indicate that this home is one of the few surviving Queen Anne winter residences from the Flagler Era. The prominent tower feature on the front of the home, which had a one point been
removed, is now completely restored according to the original design. Distinctive architectural features include: ornamental windows in different shapes and sizes, turned-wood porch posts, frieze work and an x-pattern balustrade. The narrow streets of this neighborhood, many of which are still brick, conform to the colonial town plan listed on the National Register of Historic Places.
The parcel of land where this home now stands was purchased in 1869 by John P. Howard, a wealthy New York hotel man. Mr. Howard was a winter resident and landowner in St. Augustine. In 1880, this parcel along with other property was transferred to Amos C. Spear of Burlington, VT. Mr. Spear is noted as being a relative of Mr. Howard by virtue of marriage.
In 1886, Mr. Spear sold the property to Curtis A. Hibbard, also of Burlington, VT. Mr. Hibbard, worked for the dry goods firm of Savin, Abbott and Company. A recorded sale price of $12,000 would indicate that the home had been constructed or was under construction at the time of the sale. Thus, the use of the name “Hibbard House” as a reference to the
original owner. An 1887 excerpt advertisement for slate roofing in the St. Augustine Press mentions the “use of this excellent fire proof roofing material as seen on the Lyon Building and on the “Hibbard residence”.
In 1897, Mr. Hibbard sold the property to Mollie H. Pease, also of Burlington, VT. Mrs. Pease, was a relative and heiress of the Spear family. Charming apartments in the “Hibbard Cottage” were rented as winter residences during the Flagler Era. There are multiple notations in the society newspaper the Tatler in 1897, 1899 and in 1900 indicating that many guests returned year after year to the home on St. George Street.
In 1904, Mollie Pease sold the property to Mrs. Mary Frazer. The price for the house and furnishings was $8,000. Mrs. Frazer was the manager of the Valencia Hotel which was located one door to the south at 276 St. George Street. Upon her death, the property passed to her daughter, Elizabeth Frazer (White), who had briefly served as proprietor of the Valencia Hotel. Elizabeth Frazer married Reginald White, who had a position as Vice President of the First National Bank of St. Augustine. Mr. White also served as treasurer of the Board of Trade and its successor, the Chamber of Commerce. After Reginald’s death in 1930, Elizabeth served as superintendent of the St. George Street Nursery School. Today, there is memorial cross for Mrs. White at the Trinity Episcopal Church, where she and her husband been prominent members. Mrs. Elizabeth White also rented rooms in the house. One of the most notable boarders was novelist, Marjorie Kinnan Rawlings. Among the Marjorie Kinnan Rawlings Papers at the University of Florida Library, there are many letters addressed to and from 272 St. George Street.
In 1950, Martin and Helen Firestone purchased the property. Mr. Firestone made modifications to the building and operated it as the Magnolia Inn. After his death, Helen continued to operate it as Inn until 1965.
In 1966, Ralph and Phyllis Peterson purchased the property and converted the house for use as a residence for their family of 6 children. Having come from a family of bakers which spanned many generations back to the 1700’s in Denmark, they opened Peterson’s Crest Bakery in 1966. The original location was on Cordova Street and in 1969, they moved the bakery to 113 1/2 King Street. After the passing of Ralph in 1994 and Phyllis in 1997, the family business was operated by their daughter, Charlene Peterson. In 2004, after 38 years in business, the bakery which had long been a favorite local establishment closed its doors. Ask any resident who grew up in the area about the Peterson’s family bakery and you will be told memorable commentary about their notorious doughnuts, Christmas cookies and wedding cakes.
In 1998, Dr. Greg Dent and his wife, Nancy M. Osborne purchased the property and began a restoration project on the home. Dr. Dent is said to have had a passion and talent for restoration of old buildings. It was at the St. George Street home that they welcomed their first child, Molly whose name is etched in a portion of the concrete driveway. Later, they moved to Atlantic Beach, FL to renovate another property and to be closer to family. Dr. Dent continues to operate his practice at Flagler Hospital in St. Augustine.
In 2001, Chris and Christina Emerick purchased the property as a residence for their family. They continued the restoration work and made many improvements over the years. This home was the site of numerous extended family gatherings and many memorable, elaborate holiday parties.
From this home the children experienced a remarkable childhood and truly enjoyed living in the incredible community that is the charming city of St. Augustine. It is a special place like no other in the State of Florida. This home is a happy & fulfilling place where memories were made, life was enjoyed and future generations were nurtured.
Reserve your place in history! It is now time for the next owner to take their place as the guardian of this elegant historic property so that it endures for the next 100 years… and from here your story will unfold.
Learn more about 272 Saint George Street and the City of St. Augustine.
Contact me to arrange your personal tour of this fine home in the heart of historic St. Augustine: